Microsoft Dynamics CRM

{Tips and Tricks} Reconfigure vs Sign out on CRM 2013 for IPAD/Android tablets

As I already mentioned in my earlier blog, I am focusing to write some stuff on my experiences with setting up the CRM 2013 Tablet app for IPAD and summing it up with few blogs on it.

During demos and end user scenarios it is often the case that we need to sign out or reconfigure the CRM app on tablet. Here is a quick tip on doing it:

You might choose between sign out on the app or reconfigure the application, depending on what the scenario is. You need to navigate to more commands and pick the option. Refer screen below:

clip_image001

Here is a description of when to pick what (Text reference from Microsoft site):

Sign out

Signing out deletes data and authentication tokens from the cache, and it also deletes cookies on iPad and Android tablets. Signing out does not delete metadata. This means that if a user signs in again after signing out, a metadata sync is not required before using the application again, which can save a few minutes when you sign in.

Reconfigure

Reconfiguring deletes all data and metadata from the cache.

If you sign out from one organization and sign in to another, and use the Reconfigure option on the second one, your metadata will still remain for the first organization. If you want to remove your metadata from the first one, you’ll need to sign in to it and use the Reconfigure option there, as well.

Hope it helps!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s